Rewiews

Balancing on a Razor Blade


Premiere of »Nacht mit Gaesten« by Stefan Litwin at the Hochschule für Musik Saar

A dark piece of music theatre based on a theatre piece by Peter Weiss just enjoyed a magnificent premiere – at a federal German school of music. First of all, mention must be made here of Stefan Litwin’s artistic decision to provide a late ‘delivery’ of something that author Peter Weiss had hoped for in vain. Namely, a piece of music for »Nacht mit Gaesten« that is neither an illustration nor plays like a barrel organ, but that rather is, first of all, carefully composed down to the last detail and, secondly, is instrumentally oriented towards the bustling fair, the clattering travelling theatre.

Stefan Litwin has delivered all this with an ensemble structure that is permeated with instrumental theatrical gesticulations, with scratching and scraping noises, strained accents, exploding vocal lines. Most recently appearing at the Beethoven festival in Bonn as a splendid pianist and composer in his own right, he has with this music theatre piece added a new jewel to his always stimulating, ever ambitious compository oeuvre. One could also say: a piece of resistance aesthetics. Resistance no longer strictly in Weiss’ but in the sense of it strengthening our will to survive in a new other violent environment. This is, roughly speaking, the composer’s point.

Georg Beck,
nmz 27.10.2016

New Qualities


Stefan Litwin’s »Nacht mit Gaesten« based on Peter Weiss' 'Street Ballad' of the same name.

In Litwin’s version, the whole thing gains new qualities, in particular because the score fulfils Weiss’ wish to have a 'thorough composition' rather than merely accidental stage music. There are hardly any pretty melodies or ‘songs’ in the traditional sense such as in Weill or Eisler’s work, yet much that is expressive, characteristic. Sounds reminiscent of jazz, Ländler (a folk dance in ¾ time) and tango and countless more or less hidden citations from Schubert, Chopin, Brahms, Wagner, Mahler and Eisler further impart and substantiate. ...

The music is consciously anti-psychologizing, and the coherent, convincing stage set and scenic action deliberately anti-naturalistic, corresponding with dramatic processes and text.
And finally, the two-dimensional props show the gloom in a geometric/symbolic fashion (stage set and costumes: Annette Wolf). Face paints evoke Japanese Kabuki theatre. Analogue to the virtuously rhythmic speech are the elaborate, well and truly choreographed and similarly rhythmic gestures (director: Frank Wörner, voice professor at the Hochschule für Musik Saar).

Hanns-Werner Heister,
Neue Zeitschrift für Musik, 1/2017

Sharpened Knives


Litwin’s »Nacht mit Gaesten« is based entirely on the text, which is transformed into inflected speech. This rhythmic language not only ensures a maximum text comprehension but also encourages a consistently sustained swift pace. The orchestra consists of seven musicians – all excellent students attending the Saarbrücken University of Music …

The following characters appear in Annette Wolf’s proscenium stage with its distorted perspective: father, mother, two daughters and two mysterious, sinister guests who kill each other at the end in a scene involving also instrumentally sharpened knives. The children are the only protagonists surviving this night with guests. Unmoved, they leave the bloody scene as full orphans …

Director Frank Wörner, who heads a voice class at the Saarbrücken University of Music, also staged the piece with very young students who brilliantly integrated themselves into the extremely physical, gestural puppet theatre, partly as comic figures, marionettes and silent film actors. …

The premiere in Saarbrücken is, in any event, a discovery of Peter Weiss for music. All of the smaller stages should now start trying to snag it.

Lotte Thaler,
SWR2, 24.10.2016

 

Litwin_Stefan_playing

Technical Brilliance


The second piano sonata by Ives, »Concord, Mass. 1840-1860«, a key work on the intellectual center of New England's Transcendentalism, is a hypercomplex piece that really demands a man with two brains and three hands.

Stefan Litwin mastered it as if it were the simplest thing in the world: complementing each other in ideal manner were technical brilliance, musical understanding, a sure sense of construction, and a kind of actor's art of transformation in the often abrupt changes in the heterogeneous layers of material and mood.

But what is decisive is the seriousness with which Litwin plumbs the dignity of expression of the individual characters. Litwin plays nothing that he hasn't understood, and he seems to know at every moment what he wants to »say« musically.

Julia Spinola,
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

As if Beethoven Himself Sat at the Piano


A Revelation: Stefan Litwin at the Schauspielhaus

Precisely what is special about this evening casts a dismal light on concert routine: Beethoven's Piano Concert No. 1, this time played, not by a pianist, but by a musician.
Stefan Litwin is his name, and in his performance with the Berlin Symphony Orchestra and Gielen he does just about everything differently from the hundreds of piano laborers whose Beethoven presentations usually resemble each other as much as one tuxedo the other. [...]

His playing of Beethoven is a revelation that need not fear comparison with Rattle's »Pastoral« of last week, whose primary characteristics – the exploration of historical performance practice and the fusion of a thoroughly calculated artistic statement with the (seeming) spontaneity of the moment – also define Litwin's playing: staccato playing, transparent sound, and the balance of registers with a crisp, rhythmically vibrant bass, take us to the present directly from the forte-piano of Beethoven's era; Litwin colors them with magnificently rich Steinway tone.

One can almost believe Beethoven himself were sitting at the piano, so fresh and improvisational does Litwin's playing sound.

Jörg Königsdorf, Der Tagesspiegel, Berlin

New Land Beyond Romanticism


Michael Gielen and Stefan Litwin in the Alte Oper

His interpretation of Beethoven’s C minor concerto was downright sensational: with Litwin, not a nebulous ›romantic‹ virtuoso concerto, but crystal-clear ›chamber music with piano‹. [...]

The concept of the Beethoven solo concert must be reconsidered - and Litwin and Gielen provide an exemplary occasion for this.

Hans-Klaus Jungheinrich,
Frankfurter Rundschau

Wars of Liberation, Black on White


Stefan Litwin analyzes and plays Ludwig van Beethoven's C Major Piano Concert

For Litwin, interpreting means, in the emphatic sense, explicating - musically as well as in words. This is why he loves and cultivates the lecture-recital form already practiced by Walter Levin and Charles Rose. Everyone who has ever experienced Litwin on the stage knows that he is a brilliant speaker. But that his lectures are as stirring as they are illuminating is because nothing in them is learned ornamentation; all of it is argumentation.

Nothing makes the inherent life and expressive overflowing of the works clearer than Litwin's own musical interpretation of the C major concert. The conflicts of the first movement, its melting utopia of freedom, and the yearning romance of the middle movement with its touching waltz episode, which on this recording is finally played out in a "Viennese" manner, as well as the Janissary music of the concluding rondo, which are full of willfullnesses - in Litwin's recording, all of this takes on a plasticity, forcefulness, and eloquence that makes all interpretive theory suddenly seem pale again. What more could one want?

Julia Spinola,
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Superior Perfectionist


Stefan Litwin, who carried out the gigantic piano sonata by Jean Barraqué, proved himself a superior perfectionist. Without palpable involvement or effort, but with inexorable precision, he worked through the demanding 45-minute opus.

Albrecht Dümling,
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Hommage à Pierre Boulez


This Mexico City-born specialist for New Piano Music achieved something enormous; especially with the »Notations« and the sonata by Boulez he was a master of balanced execution at the keyboard not weighted by hands. Much of Boulez, for example the second movement of the sonata or some of the twelve-measure pieces, demands a machine-like precision as with Ligeti, yet Litwin paired this manual skill even with unbelievable elegance and smoothness.

He must be a pianist completely to Pierre Boulez' taste: clean and painstaking in dealing with sounds, precise to hard in his touch, calm, even easy-going on questions of form. And completely himself, without any extravagance.

Stefan Schickhaus, Main-Echo

For a Few Fingers More


On the world premiere of Michael Gielen's »recycling der glocken« (recycling the bells) in Berlin

The pianistic added value can hardly be grasped. Sometimes it sounds, and looks, as if the pianist, already facing a great challenge for a virtuoso, would have to grow another five to ten fingers.

Stefan Litwin is not only one of the few thinking pianists who know how to bridle, including technically, such a »warhorse«. Around this spectacular world premiere he also arranged one of his intelligent programs, in which cross-references are as meaningful as they are rich in leaps in knowledge.

Eleonore Büning,
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Rezensionen

Spagat auf der Rasierklinge


Uraufführung von »Nacht mit Gästen« von Stefan Litwin an der Hochschule für Musik Saar

Ein dunkles Stück Musiktheater nach einem Theaterstück von Peter Weiss hatte soeben eine glänzende Uraufführung erlebt – an einer bundesdeutschen Musikhochschule.

Zu würdigen wäre hier zunächst die künstlerische Entscheidung Stefan Litwins, etwas ‚nachzuliefern‘, worauf Autor Peter Weiss seinerzeit vergeblich gehofft hatte. Nämlich eine Musik zu »Nacht mit Gästen«, die nicht illustriert, die nicht leierkastet, die vielmehr erstens durchkomponiert und zweitens instrumental am lärmenden Jahrmarkt, an der klackernden Schaubude orientiert ist.

Dies hat Stefan Litwin mit einem Ensemblesatz geliefert, der durchsetzt ist von instrumentaler Theatergestik, mit scharrend-schabenden Geräuschen, forcierten Akzenten, explodierenden Gesangslinien. Zuletzt beim Bonner Beethovenfest als glänzender Pianist und Komponist in eigener Sache hervorgetreten, hat er seinem immer anregenden, immer anspruchsvollen kompositorischen Schaffen mit diesem Musiktheater ein neues Juwel hinzugefügt. Man kann auch sagen: ein Stück Widerstands-Ästhetik. Widerstand jetzt nicht mehr strikt im Weiss‘schen, sondern in dem Sinn, dass es unseren Überlebenswillen in einer neuen, anderen Gewaltumgebung stärkt. Darauf kommt es, soviel wird man sagen dürfen, diesem Komponisten an.

Georg Beck,
nmz 27.10.2016

Neue Qualitäten


Stefan Litwins »Nacht mit Gästen« nach Peter Weiss' gleichnamiger 'Moritat'.

In Litwins Lesart gewinnt das Ganze neue Qualitäten, besonders indem die Partitur Weiss' Wunsch nach einer 'durchgehenden Komposition' statt einer bloß akzidentellen Bühnenmusik erfüllt. ... Im traditionellen Sinn schöne Melodien oder 'Songs' gibt es im Unterschied zu Weill oder Eisler kaum, aber doch viel Prägnantes, Charakteristisches. Anklänge an Jazz, an Ländler oder Tango und zahlreiche mehr oder weniger verdeckte Zitate von Schubert, Chopin, Brahms, Wagner, Mahler und Eisler vermitteln und konkretisieren zusätzlich. ...

Wie die Musik bewusst anti-psychologisierend ist, so sind die stimmige, überzeugende Bühneneinrichtung und szenische Aktion betont anti-naturalistisch und dadurch dramatischen Vorgängen wie Text gemäß. Nicht zuletzt die zweidimensionale Requisiten zeigen das Gedrückte geometrisch-symbolisch (Bühnenbild und Kostüme: Annette Wolf). Schminkmasken erinnern an das japanische Kabuki-Theater. Analog zum virtuos rhythmischen Sprechen sind die ausgefeilten, regelrecht choreographierten und ebenfalls rhythmisierten Gesten (Regie: Frank Wörner, Gesangsprofessor an der Hochschule für Musik Saar).

Hanns-Werner Heister,
Neue Zeitschrift für Musik, 1/2017

Scharf gewetzte Messer


Litwin geht in seiner »Nacht mit Gästen« ganz vom Text aus und verwandelt ihn in Sprechgesang. Diese rhythmisierte Sprache sorgt nicht nur für maximale Textverständ­lichkeit, sondern befördert auch das konsequent durchgehaltene, hohe Spieltempo. Das Orchester besteht aus sieben Musikern – alles famose Studenten der Saarbrücker Musikhochschule  ...

In der perspektivisch verzerrten Guckkastenbühne von Annette Wolf treten auf: Vater, Mutter, zwei Töchter und zwei rätselhafte, unheimliche Gäste, die sich am Schluss in einer auch instrumental scharf gewetzten Messerszene gegenseitig umbringen. Die Kinder sind die einzigen Protagonisten, die diese Nacht mit Gästen überleben. Ungerührt verlassen sie den blutigen Schauplatz als Vollwaisen. ...

Regisseur Frank Wörner, der eine Gesangsklasse an der Saarbrücker Musikhochschule leitet, inszenierte das Stück ebenfalls mit blutjungen Studenten, die sich bravourös in das extrem körperbetonte, gestische Figuren-Theater integrierten, teils als Comic-Figuren, teils als Marionetten, teils als Stummfilm-Akteure.  ...

Die Uraufführung in Saarbrücken jedenfalls ist eine Entdeckung von Peter Weiss für die Musik. Alle kleineren Bühnen müssten sich jetzt darum reißen.

Lotte Thaler,
SWR2, 24.10.2016

 

Litwin_Stefan_playing

Technische Brillanz


Die zweite Klaviersonate von Ives, »Concord, Mass. 1840-1860«, Schlüsselwerk über das geistige Zentrum des neuenglischen Transzendentalismus, ist ein hyperkomplexes Stück, das eigentlich einen Mann mit zwei Gehirnen und drei Händen erfordert.

Stefan Litwin bewältigte das, als sei es das selbstverständlichste von der Welt: Technische Brillanz, musikalisches Verständnis, sicheres Konstruktionsgefühl und eine Art schauspielerische Wandlungskunst im oft abrupten Wechsel des heterogenen Material- und Stimmungslagen ergänzten einander ideal.

Entscheidend aber ist, mit welchem Ernst sich Litwin in die Ausdrucksdignität der einzelnen Charaktere versenkt. Litwin spielt nichts, was er nicht verstanden hat, und scheint in jedem Moment zu wissen, was er musikalisch »sagen« will.

Julia Spinola,
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Als säße Beethoven selbst am Klavier


Eine Offenbarung: Stefan Litwin im Schauspielhaus

Gerade das Besondere des Abends wirft ein trübes Licht auf den Konzertalltag: Beethovens erstes Klavierkonzert, diesmal nicht von einem Pianisten, sondern von einem Musiker gespielt.
Stefan Litwin heißt er und macht bei seinem Auftritt mit dem Berliner Sinfonie-Orchester und Michael Gielen so gut wie alles anders als die aberhundert Klavierarbeiter, deren Beethoven-Darbietungen sich meist so gleichen wie ein Frack dem anderen. [...]

Sein Beethovenspiel ist eine Offenbarung, die den Vergleich mit Rattles »Pastorale« vergangener Woche nicht zu scheuen braucht: Deren Hauptmerkmale, die Auseinandersetzung mit historischer Aufführungspraxis und die Verschmelzung einer durchkalkulierten künstlerischen Aussage mit der (Schein-) Spontaneität des Moments, bestimmen auch Litwins Spiel: Staccato-Spiel, Klangtransparenz und Registergewichtung mit einem knackigen, rhythmisch lebendigen Bass leiten sich direkt vom Hammerflügel der Beethoven-Zeit her und werden von Litwin mit prächtig schillerndem Steinway-Ton koloriert.

Fast denkt man, Beethoven säße selbst am Klavier, so frisch und fast improvisatorisch frei klingt Litwins Spiel.

Jörg Königsdorf,
Der Tagesspiegel, Berlin

Neuland jenseits der Romantik


Michael Gielen und Stefan Litwin in der Alten Oper

Geradezu sensationell war die Interpretation des c-moll Konzerts von Beethoven, bei Litwin kein umwölktes »romantisches« Virtuosenkonzert, sondern glasklare »Kammermusik mit Klavier«. [...]

Der Begriff des Beethovenschen Solokonzerts ist zu überdenken - dazu gaben Litwin und Gielen exemplarischen Anlass.

Hans-Klaus Jungheinrich,
Frankfurter Rundschau

Befreiungskriege schwarz auf weiß


Stefan Litwin analysiert und spielt das C-Dur Klavierkonzert Ludwig van Beethovens

Für Litwin heißt interpretieren im emphatischen Sinne: deuten, und zwar musikalisch wie sprachlich. Daher liebt und pflegt er die schon von Walter Levin und Charles Rosen praktizierte Form des Lecture-Recitals. Jeder, der Litwin einmal auf der Bühne erlebt hat, weiß, dass er auch ein brillanter Redner ist. Daß seine Lectures aber ebenso mitreißend wie erhellend sind, liegt jedoch vor allem daran, dass nichts daran gelehrte Verzierung ist, alles Argumentation.

Nichts macht das Eigenleben, den expressiven Überschuß der Werke deutlicher als Litwins eigene musikalische Interpretation des C-Dur Konzerts. Die Konflikte des Kopfsatzes, seine zerfließende Utopie der Freiheit und die sehnsüchtige Romanze des Mittelsatzes mit ihrer anrührenden, in dieser Aufnahme endlich einmal »wienerisch« ausgespielten Walzerepisode sowie die voller Mutwilligkeiten steckende Janitscharenmusik des Schlussrondos: all dies gewinnt in Litwins Aufnahme eine Plastizität, Eindringlichkeit und Beredtheit, die alle Deutungstheorie plötzlich wieder blaß erscheinen lassen. Was will man mehr?

Julia Spinola,
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Überlegener Perfektionist


Stefan Litwin, der die gigantische Klaviersonate von Jean Barraqué exekutierte, erwies sich als überlegener Perfektionist. Ohne spürbare Beteiligung oder Mühe, dagegen mit unerbittlicher Präzision arbeitete er sich durch das anspruchsvolle Drei-Viertelstunden-Opus.

Albrecht Dümling,
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Hommage à Pierre Boulez


Der in Mexico City geborene Spezialist für Neue Klaviermusik leistete Enormes; gerade bei den Notations und der Sonate von Boulez war er ein Meister der ausgeglichenen, nicht nach Händen gewichteten Bedienung der Tastatur. Vieles bei Boulez, etwa der zweite Sonatensatz oder einige der Zwölftakter, verlangen eine Automatenpräzision wie bei Ligeti, doch paarte Litwin diese manuelle Fertigkeit noch mit einer unglaublichen Eleganz und Geschmeidigkeit.

Es muß ein Pianist sein so ganz nach Pierre Boulez' Geschmack: Sauber und sorgfältig im Umgang mit Klängen, präzise bis hart im Anschlag, ruhig, ja gelassen in Fragen der Form. Und, ganz er selbst, ohne jede Extravaganz.

Stefan Schickhaus, Main-Echo

Für ein paar Finger mehr


Zur Uraufführung von Gielens »recycling der glocken« in Berlin

Der pianistische Mehrwert ist kaum zu fassen: Manchmal hört es sich so an, sieht es so aus, als müssten dem ohnehin schon hochvirtuos geforderten Klavierspieler noch einmal fünf bis zehn Finger zusätzlich wachsen.

Stefan Litwin ist nicht nur einer der wenigen denkenden Pianisten, die ein solches »Schlachtroß« auch technisch zu zäumen wüssten. Er hat außerdem rund um die spektakuläre Uraufführung eines seiner intelligenten Programme gebaut, in den Querbezügen so sinnvoll wie an Erkenntnissprüngen reich.

Eleonore Büning,
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung